Share Your MyHeritage DNA Results with a Collaborator

Melanie Mohler

Share with a friend: 

You can now share your MyHeritage DNA results with a collaborator! We’ll explain how to share your DNA results, how to view DNA results shared with you, and how this can help you in your DNA research.

Share your MyHeritage DNA results with a collaborator

MyHeritage now allows you to share your DNA results with a collaborator! This is great news if you are working with a professional such as a DNA coach and want an easy way to share your DNA results with them. This is also a safer way to share your DNA data (instead of sharing your MyHeritage account log in information, which is unsafe and against MyHeritage’s Terms of Service).

When you share your DNA results with someone at MyHeritage, the collaborator will be able to do the following:

  • view DNA Matches, Ethnicity Estimate, and Genetic Groups
  • Contact your DNA Matches (the collaborator will be contacting them as themselves, not under your name)
  • View and edit your family tree

But they CANNOT do the following:

  • Download your raw DNA data
  • Delete the DNA kit
  • Share the DNA results with others
  • Reassign the kit to a different person
  • Change your DNA preferences

We’ll show you the steps on how to share your results with a collaborator, and how to view results shared with you.

But first, if you haven’t tested at MyHeritage, you can transfer your DNA data to MyHeritage.

How to share your MyHeritage DNA results with a collaborator

1. Log in to your MyHeritage account.

2. From the home screen, hover over the DNA tab and click “Manage DNA kits.”

"Manage DNA kits" is found under the DNA tab

3. Click on the three vertical dots of the test that you want to share.

4. Click “Share DNA results with a collaborator.”

You can find the "Share DNA results with a collaborator" by clicking the three vertical dots next to a test.

5. You’ll be asked to enter the email address of the person you want to share your results with. Note that

6. The collaborator will receive email instructions (see below).

How to view MyHeritage DNA results shared with you

If someone has shared their MyHeritage DNA results with you, you’ll receive an email inviting you to review the invitation.

Example of email invitation to view shared MyHeritage DNA results

Click on the “Review invitation” button and you’ll be taken to MyHeritage. You’ll be prompted again to accept (or decline) the invitation. If you accept the invitation, you’ll be able to do the following:

  • View the person’s DNA Matches, write notes on Matches and add labels
  • View the person’s Ethnicity Estimate and Genetic Groups
  • View the person’s family tree

Invitation to view MyHeritage DNA results

 

That’s it! Super easy. You can remove your access to a person’s shared kit, or you can remove a person’s access to your shared kit at any time by following the same steps as above, but clicking “Remove results sharing” if you shared the results or “Remove shared kit” if you’re the collaborator. Currently, you can only share your DNA results with one collaborator at a time.

Do you (or your collaborator) have unknown ancestors? How do you start identifying them? Download our FREE guide that gives you the four next steps for your DNA.

Yes, I want the FREE guide!

Get More DNA Inspiration

Our free monthly newsletter delivers more great articles right to you.

1 Comment

  1. Celeste

    This is great news, but I just tried it and I seem to be able to share with only 1 collaborator? On Ancestry, I share my matches with about 15 close and distant cousins (and vice versa).

    Reply

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend